Part II- The injury

Missed Part I?

Summer 2009- So while taking two summer classes ( Physics and Organic Lab) as well as teaching boot camp.

I started physical therapy for my ” disc” problem- I was going 2X a week. Along with back extensions to move the disc back in place I was getting ice and electrode therapy.

I was disappointed that nothing was helping, but I decided to stick with it because it might work out in the end.

Meanwhile my symptoms were getting worse, I could not sit or walk for long. Sitting for long like driving caused a tingling nerve pain down my legs. And bending down to tie my shoes was out of the question

I went back to my spine surgeon at the end of the summer for some more options.

Option #1 MRI

Option#2 Steroid Pack ( to reduce nerve inflammation)

I went with the open MRI.

[Source]

Yeah- it looks totally harmless- but I had a panic attack in the middle and I wanted to stop. I did not have my contacts on so I could not see that I was not as trapped as I felt. However, there was noway to stop the test and have me come back another day. So my mom came in and sat next to me and I was able to finish it.

The results of the MRI showed that I had Spondylolysis (Pars Fracture of the Spine). This is not the same thing as the disc problem I went to PT for. In fact all the exercises I was doing- worsen the condition that I do have.

Well my doctor called me over the phone and told me to exercise by walking up hill and that I should be better in 6-8weeks.

6-8 weeks later– I was NOT better and still miserable and so I went back to the doctor.

Here were my options:

Option #2 Steroid Pack ( to reduce nerve inflammation)

Option #3 Back brace

I went with the back brace.

I name my back brace turtle !

With the help of a good friend I wore this bad boy for 6 weeks. I even got over my fear of pills and took the steroid pack.

Today- I am 91% better! This was a long journey- but getting better is soo worth it. I spent most of the year feeling sorry for myself and gained 20 pounds. I was not focused on what I was eat- I ate whatever made me feel good. It was not until Jan 1st that I started to watch what I ate.

Just by tracking what I eat daily I have lost 3 pounds.

– I have also been working out: I am going to stick with non impact workouts till March, because I still feel pain in my back every now and then. If in March  I am feeling 100% better I will start training for my first 1/2 marathon in October.

I will wear my back brace every now and then, when I feel like I need it.

Moral of the story: Keep going back to the doctor until you get the RIGHT solution. Being injury and pain free is worth it.

19 responses to “Part II- The injury

  1. So glad you are doing better!! It is a major pain having to visit the doctor constantly but in the end the inconvenience is worth it. Crossing my fingers for your 100% recovery!

  2. I hope you continue to get better!!!!

  3. So glad to hear that you are doing better. Sorry you had to go through all that pain!

  4. True that moral!! You’re one tough cookie, Sana 🙂

  5. Oh those mri’s are awful!!! It’s painful to lay there that long and not fidget! And you know there’s obviously something wrong while you’re getting it done, which makes you feel that much more awful while getting it done! blah…

    I hope you’re well on your way to being better!

  6. I am so happy to hear that you are doing better! Thank God!!!!

    BTW I had to get a MRI too and it was soooo scary! just staring up at that thing…they said it was a “open” MRI but I felt so closed in. They had to bring my mom into the room with me because I was freaking out

  7. I’m so glad to hear you’re getting better! This sounds like an intense injury!
    I’m starting food tracking again too! Congrats on getting healthy!

  8. wow thats a crazy story! so glad you finally got it all figured out and 91% is amazing! keep truckin girl

  9. oh my goodness. such turmoil. I thought back braces got a bad rap. So glad to hear otherwise! Here’s to your remaining 9% healing! Here it comes!

  10. oh my gosh, hun so sorry about your back troubles, but I’m glad that you are feeling somewhat better. That must be so frustrating. Hope you are doing well 🙂 I wish we would have had leftovers of the curry peanut sauce last night, but it was so darn good we ate it ALL! lol

  11. That’s such a terrible thing to go through, but I’m so happy you’re almost all better!

  12. Wow – so glad you are feeling that much better! Have you tried swimming? It’s a great workout, helps stiffness, and is completely low impact.

  13. i’m glad you’re doing better now!

    the idea of an MRI does sound like it could be kinda freaky to me-i can see why it’d give you a panic attack

  14. I too had a panic attack the last time I had to have an MRI. Glad you’re healing up at least!

  15. Wow! You’ve been through a lot with this injury. It sounds like you are finally back on track and headed towards healing. Thankfully, you kept going back to the doctor until they correctly diagnosed the problem.

  16. Good for you for sticking with figuring out what was wrong! It’s important to be persistent when you feel like you aren’t getting the right treatment. I’m so glad to hear you’re feeling better and found something that worked!

  17. Im so glad that you are back to feeling better and have figured out the problem! Sorry you had to go through all that. Must have been really tough. But very cool that you got it worked out and you are back on track!! Take care hon!

  18. Shelley (findinghappinessandhealth)

    inspiring! so glad you got the help you needed to get through that terrible injury

    xox
    shelley
    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

  19. Pingback: Spring semester 2009 « The simple life of Sana.

Leave a comment