152- Me, Myself and I

156.5– Dec 31st

This is not a diet post.

January has been a lovely month so far. I am on break till the 27th and other than going to the gym and spending time with my family I have not been doing much. With that said I have spent a lot of time thinking about my life and where I am going for my future.

I have not started 2010 with many of the friendships that I had in 2009. For reasons unclear to me, I can’t seem to maintain friendships. I asked a casual friend of mine who I know would be honest with me what he thought of me. Without much hesitation he responded, ” you are a very nice person.”

I am a nice person, I care a lot about the people in my life and try to show them that. Apparently, I am still not getting it done. Truthfully, friendships stress me out.  There is a lot of expectation when it comes to being a friend. I fear I may never be able to have a lasting friendship. There is a art to having a healthy friendship, one that I have not yet mastered.

With that being said, there is one friendship that I have been working hard on and that is the one with myself.


I want to have a strong relationship with myself that lets me get through the good and bad times.


I want to be able to feel good about myself even when I don’t have a good friend around me. It may not be something that I had control over. People come and go.


I want to be able to maintain healthy eating habits that last a lifetime. I feel like this month I have been able to come up with something that works for me. I don’t want to feel like I can’t enjoy the foods I love because I am not at my “healthy weight”. I trust that my body will tell me when I have eaten enough or not enough.

Thanks for reading my injury posts I and II I have come along way from being in pain and it was truly a testing journey. I am so blessed at the ability to be healthy.


I have been hitting the gym everyday. Non impact exercise is something that I have never done in the past. But cranking out on the elliptical and stationary bike is rewarding when I can see results in my weight.

I don’t count calories– because I want to be able to use my judgment when it comes to eating. I have never counted calories and I don’t plan on it. Food gives me the energy to carry on my daily activities. As a biochemistry major I know it is a very vital part of my bodily function. I can’t put a number on that.

What I can put a number on is my weight. Because that is what I am. When I get to a “healthy weight” I won’t have to keep track and know that I am just that. Healthy.

Being at the age of 20- I feel like I have my entire life in front of me. The choices that I make in the next few years will shape my future. I don’t want to look back and have any regret.

___________________________________________________________

Food bloggers have some staple food items we all know what they are OIAJ?

I have some of my own.

#1 Fennel Seeds

[Source]

– I mainly use this as a digestive aid, it is known to reduce bloating and cramps. I for some reason an obsessed with them, whenever I have a stomach ache I always have a small handful. I also eat them after most of my meals. There are other benefits to these seeds, however this is the only reason I eat them. They taste like faintly like licorice. You can find these seeds in most grocery store.

#2 Cranberry Juice

[Source]

– 100% Cranberry Juice is useful in preventing urinary tract, bladder and kidney infections. It can have a tart taste so some you may want to mix it with something else. I have always loved cranberry juice and I prefer it over soda or anything else.

I hope everyone is enjoying their Monday off! I am off to the gym !

Follow me on twitter @simplysana- I love tweeting with my readers.

____________________________________________________________________

“An individual has not started living until he can rise above the narrow confines of his individualistic concerns to the broader concerns of all humanity.” ~ MLK

14 responses to “152- Me, Myself and I

  1. I think it’s great that you are really focusing on yourself this year. I’m here to support you 🙂
    As for friends, I’ve always said it’s quality, not quantity that matters!

  2. Great post! You’re very right to put yourself first and work on being your own best friend. In my own experience, times when I haven’t been happy with myself, no one else really seemed to want to be around me either. Now that I’m finally comfortable in my own skin and confident, people are coming back towards me and it makes me so happy. You have such a good attitude and I know 2010 will be a good year for YOU! 🙂

  3. I agree with another poster….it is quality not quantity. I have a few good friends and that is enough for me!

    I am so with you on the 100% cranberry juice. I drink some every single morning and it is great for overall health.

  4. Lynn at The Actors Diet

    your relationship with yourself is undoubtedly the most important one!

  5. you are so smart girl! i agree w. everything you said. you deserve, we all deserve a great relationship with ourselves..we are blessed w. only one body on this earth!

  6. Shelley (findinghappinessandhealth)

    i love this post- i think it is so important to maintain that kind of outlook with health & food,etc. i am a prime example of how it can get out of hand. keep it up girl 🙂

    xoxo
    shelley
    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

  7. I am the same way with friendships. I have a few solid friends but I’ve seen so many come and go over the years. And you’re right, having a great friendship with yourself is so so important. Great post girl!

  8. Great post! I feel like I have a similar problem sometimes with friendships; there are a few that have lasted forever, but I’m not the best at making new friends or holding on to some of the more recent ones, it seems…

    Focusing on loving yourself is a great goal and will enrich every other aspect of your life. Good luck!

    Oh, and don’t forget to e-mail me your mailing address, so I can send you the cookbooks/Girl Scout cookies you won! marathonkara at gmail.com 🙂

  9. Great post love! I too am like that, when it comes to friendships. Is it me or is it harder to make friends when you get older? when you are younger it so much easier, you become friends with people in your class etc but now it’s so different.

  10. I really like this post. A good relationship with yourself is extremely important. I need to work on this too.
    Love yourself! You’re fabulous!

    When I first got to India, I didn’t understand why everyone chewed fennel seeds but I did it anyway to fit in. Now I think it’s great!

    I really need to get on the twitter band wagon…

  11. Great post my dear. And haha yay we’re already tweet buds. 😉

    And trust me, once you start loving yourself, all else will soon follow. for now.. you have tons of bloggie friends! xoxo

  12. I loveeeeeeeee fennel seeds!
    I have to say I have a lot of similar experiences with friendships- I do have friends I’ve maintained for a long time, but a lot of my former ‘best friends’ and I don’t even speak anymore- sometimes it was just drifting apart (changes in interest, values, less in common, etc) or sometimes it was something small that was blown out of proportion and resulted in a series of miscommunications.
    Live, learn, improve

  13. there is No better time than the present to focus on yourself !! one time in my life i counted calorie as and it made me CRAZY! i will never do it again, I love eating intuatively and fueling my body with healthy foods for some hard work! I think its so great that you have come to appreciate your body and what it can do. truly inspiring!

  14. Love cranberry juice! When I lived in Ireland, I drank it allllll the time!

    Not such a big fennel fan though 😦

    I am also learning to find a balance between friendships/relationships and focusing on myself!

Leave a Reply

