My first Guest Post :)!

I am soooo excited to have my first guest blogger, James is a really good friend of mine at UMBC and I have ask him share a snapshot of his journey with you all.

Take it away James!

_________________________________________________________________________

It’s hard to believe that a year and 9 months ago, I was 40 pounds heavier than I am today.

For the majority of my life, I’ve struggled with my weight.  When I was a kid, I hated being fat, and I was convinced that all I had to do was eat fewer calories.  Fad diets and some pretty bad advice led me down the popular path though.  Carbs this and protein that.

Little did I know, my younger self had it right all along.  Calories are all that matters when it comes to weight loss.  In my freshman year of college, I weighed an entire 245lbs.  Depressed and frustrated, I somehow ended up on John Walker’s book, The Hacker’s Diet.  I read the whole thing, and something clicked.  I guess it was the throwback to the mentality that it really is simpler than diet books and fads make it out to be.  I got myself a nice scale (capable of measuring my % body fat by BIA)…

I started keeping a count of how many calories I was eating each day, and trying to hit a goal of a daily deficit (about 1000 calories at first, down to around 500 daily).  I weighed myself every day and charted the data so I could see my progress…

HackDiet

The cool thing about John’s book is that it stresses how to look at your weight.  He admits that calories are all that matters, but that there’s other things in your body.  When you weigh yourself, you’re also weighing all that…uh, other stuff.  If you average it out, though, that noise goes away and you see the much smoother curve (in red) that more closely represents your ‘weight’ over time.

It hasn’t been easy, particularly when I leave school.  Going home hurts around the waist, but I’ve managed to avoid gaining much weight while I’m there.  Those flat sections on the graph are just those times.  It takes some dedication and some real belief in an end result.  I’m still 20lbs away from my goal, but being able to look back at my progress so far gives me the confidence to go forward.  It’s really pretty amazing to go from buying larger and larger jeans to being frustrated that you need a new belt again, or that your favorite shirt now looks like a tent on you.  It’s really nice to have problems like that.

James

( Sana: Hubba hubba!)

Want to do something amazing?  Then do it.  I’ll keep trying to, and you can even follow me on The Hacker’s Diet by my pseudonym, Beta Viardot.

6 responses to “My first Guest Post :)!

  1. It is so refreshing to see a guy post! It’s nice to know that we (women) are not the only ones that stuggle with our weight and dread having to go up a size etc…Thanks James!!!!!

  2. Great guys post. I agree with Mari, so refreshing to read a story about a guy. Nice to know that not only girls struggle with their weight.

    James, best of luck to you in your continual weight loss journey. 40 40 pounds is a huge success already. I am glad you found something that works for you. Keep up updated once you reach your ultimate goal!

  3. I agree with the two above commenters. I love to see a guy’s perspective on weight loss. Thanks for this post, Sana and James!

  4. holy smokes that is a great story!! Its nice to see a guys point of view too!!

  5. Love the insight & info, what an awesome guy to do such an inspirational guest post!

    Enjoy your weekend!!
    Meg

  6. Ygzh4N Excellent article, I will take note. Many thanks for the story!

Leave a Reply

