Taste of the Nation D.C

Last Thursday POM Wonderful hosted a contest for VIP tickets to D.C’s Taste of the Nation! Mission of the event from the website:

“Since 1988, Taste of the Nation has brought together the most creative culinary minds across the nation. Each spring and summer, pioneers of modern American cuisine, national celebrity chefs and mixologists including David Burke, Stephan Pyles, mixologist Tony Abou-Ganim, Bravo’s Top Chef Tom Collichio, Food Network stars Tyler Florence and Emeril Lagasse and thousands more like them donate their time, talent and passion at nearly 40 events across the United States and Canada with one goal in mind: to raise critical funds needed to help end childhood hunger. 100% of supports Share Our Strength’s efforts to end childhood hunger.”

I was more than overjoyed when I was selected as a winner to attend! I hopped on the D.C metro for the FIRST time!

I met up with Quinn ( another winner of the contest and a lovely blogger:) )

We started off the evening at the Volt sponsored  VIP reception

Picture 083 ( Excuse the flash)

Eats from the VIP:

Beet Macaroon with Foie Gras Mousse

Picture 082I can’t say I have ever tasted something like this, it was flakey and sweet!

Picture 080 Volt chefs hard at work!

and I enjoyed the view from above, it was nice to see everything!

Picture 075 The event was at the National Museum Building, which by the end of the evening I was in love with!

We made our way down to the floor for some more eats- I had not eaten anything since lunch at 1:00 and I was good to go ( or so I thought).

Kellari Tavern on camera!

Picture 086

Picture 087

Spinach Pie and Scallop I can’t get over how light and HEALTHY this was!

Most interesting food item of the night award goes to:Firefly

Picture 094 Baby Octopus!

Picture 095 I made a dash for some Lebanese food!

Picture 093

Kababji had some grape leaves stuff with rice!

Picture 091

Picture 074

OccidentalLobster roll, a definite first for me!

Picture 076

Enjoying a Anchovy Tartlet from Proof

meScallop

Picture 079

Picture 099 Indian food!!! Bombay ClubShrimp with Mango Chutney I grabbed a menu on the way out, I will be stopping there again for sure!

Picture 100 Dessert had to be my FAVORITE part!

PS 7’S Ice cream on a stick HOLY YUM! I need like 5 more of these!

Picture 081

The absolute star of the evening, Georgetown Cupcake

Picture 096

I honestly felt like I had died and gone to heaven! Each bite was light and flavorful.

I dove into the Salted Caramel and I loved every single bite!

Picture 098

We of course had to stop by and drink some POM Wonderful, who made this amazing evening possible!

Picture 097 POM Mocktail- Was so light and refreshing!

Picture 084

Qands

I can’t even describe how amazing this evening was, it was a chance for me to taste an assortment of delights that I normally would not!

I am also going to Taste of Catonsville next Monday! And I will be more prepared to tickle my taste buds!

Thanks to POM Wonderful and Quinn for her company/ metro directing skills!

17 responses to “Taste of the Nation D.C

  1. This looks like such a cool event! I am so glad you made it there safely 🙂 Did you end up walking?

  2. How very cool! I wanted to attend but couldn’t get organized enough. 😉 Looks like you had a blast.

  3. HOW COOL!!! All that food looked amazing!!!

  4. oh my goodness! What a fun event! And how good do those cupcakes look 🙂

  5. That looks like such a cool event! I need to start going to these cool foodie things happening right near my hometown 😀

  6. Looks like SOOO much fun! And that’s crazy that you tried Foie Gras. I’m terrified of it but fascinated by it all at once.

  7. So fun. Sana, you and I…we are meeting! This summer! I’ll be back from Singapore and Korea in July. This time, if you oversleep, I swear I will charge over and shake you awake and force you on a 10K run with me! hahah!

  8. How lucky are you?? I am so jealous you got to go to such a great event. I am loving the Indian food and the cupcake tower!

    Love your cute glasses.

  9. Wow– what an amazing event!!! So cool!

  10. Food looks so Amazing! Thinking about going to Taste of Catonsville too! I will let you know.

  11. oh my GAHHH how AWESOME!! im so jelous girl! that food all looks so decadent and unique!

  12. oh my goodness – those cupcakes! i want to dive right in!

  13. Thanks for letting us know how it went! Looking at all the photos, I wish I could have gone too!! Esp the cupcakes. 😉

  14. Wow, I’m so jealous … everything looks so delicious!

  15. All of that food looks amazing! Lucky you!

  16. Looks like a great event, I’m jealous!

  17. You are quite the lucky girl! If you didn’t see my reply to your message, check it and let me know about the speed routine… I would be more than happy to.

Leave a comment