Who am I?

In life I play it safe. I avoid confrontations, I like nothing more than to stay at home with a good book and a warm cup of tea.

You won’t find me out on a wild adventure or out doing something illegal crazy.

Last semester I heard about a research program to study healthy living in Switzerland. I knew this was the program for me. I had never traveled out of the country( do Canada and Mexico count?) before so I was nervous.

In 1997 I went to Las Vegas and threw up the entire 6 hour flight. Let’s just say people requested a seat change.

So I figured I would just apply for the program, and if I did not get in, well then I would not have to go.

But I GOT INNNN!!!!!

I will be in Switzerland from June 28th-July 4th

[Source]

I have not decided where I am going to go after, I am meeting with my classmates next week and we will take it form there!

What will I be doing there?

“This program will be useful to undergraduate and graduate students considering careers in health and aging or who want to maintain a healthy lifestyle in a fast-paced culture.

Exercise, stress reduction, and diet have been identified as key components in maintaining health for people of all ages. These factors are central to the prevention and management of chronic disease. The risk for chronic diseases increases with age, however, the sedentary, high stress, fast-food life style typical of student life and common for all ages in the US has contributed to an epidemic of related health problems. Switzerland is distinguished by low rates of chronic disease, compared to the US, and a geography and culture that fosters out-door activity for all ages. This experiential learning program applies an ecological framework to examine case studies, international best practices and participant experience to better understand how public policy and clinical practice can help individuals initiate and maintain healthy life styles.

Switzerland, a country of stunning mountain vistas, truly lies at the crossroads of Europe. For our academic program, we stay in Kandersteg, nestled in the Swiss Alps. Participants venture in to nearby cities to conduct their field research, returning to home base for an evening meal and to discuss the day’s experiences. Highlights include options for day trips to Geneva, Zurich, Berne, to see a glacier and Alpine hiking.”

*Does anyone else have air sickness? If so what do you do to deal with it?*

24 responses to “Who am I?

  1. CONGRATS GIRL!! that is so exciting!!

  2. WOW CONGRATS CHICA! You deserve this!

    I can not wait to hear about your adventures

  3. OMG THAT’S AWESOME! I am SO jealous! You better keep blogging when you’re there! 😉

  4. What an amazing opportunity!!

  5. That is SO exciting! Where in Switzerland will you be? I was in Geneva a LONG time ago and remember how gorgeous it was… the entire country is so charming!

    Sounds like an interesting program, too. Can’t wait to follow your progress. 😀

  6. Wow! That is so exciting!

  7. omg that is so exciting! Take so many pictures!!

  8. I hope you have have a blast in Switzerland! Make sure you hike in the Alps and go to Ez!

  9. Congratulations!! THAT’S AMAZING!!! I bet you’ll have a great time!

    I don’t usually get sick on planes (except for my strange bout of fainting last week… super weird), maybe try a sleeping pill? Dramamine(sp?)?

    Ahh! So excited for you!!

  10. Shelley (findinghappinessandhealth)

    have funnn 😀

    xoxo
    shelley
    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

  11. i just started feeling not so awesome on planes… i take dramamine, don’t try and read anything (that always makes me feel horrible), and pack some salty snacks, which my mom always told me helps with motion sickness

    and what an exciting trip!

  12. Stef @ moretolifethanlettuce

    OMG wow what an awesome program, how exciting! congrats on getting into it, i’m sure once you arrive (after potential plane hell) you will have an amazing time!

  13. Congrats!! What an opportunity! Keep the blog up because we will all want to hear how it goes 🙂

  14. I don’t have air sickness problems, thank God, because I love to travel – but I am super jealous of you getting to go to Switzerland!

  15. OMG!!! Congratulations!!!!!

  16. I am so excited for you! And jealous too. How exciting!!

    Maya gets car sick and air sick and I just give her Dramamine. It works wonders.

  17. Congratulations! I’m so jealous! I’ve always wanted to go to Switzerland!

    As for air sickness, I used to get really sick whenever I would fly when I was little. My mom would always make me taking Dramamine and it would never work! Even though it never worked, she always made me take it anyway thinking the results would be different.
    I did find something that is a miracle worker – motion sickness bands. They go around your wrists and press on a pressure point (not hard or anything). I usually forget that I’m wearing them after a while. I haven’t gotten sick at all since I started wearing these like ten years ago!
    http://www.colonialmedical.com/product.php?productid=16934
    That is the kind that I have. I believe you can get them at rite aid and cvs and stuff like that.
    The good thing about them- they don’t wear off like medicine & as long as you don’t lose them, you can use it forever!

    Just remember, reading usually makes the sickness worse. Listening to music helps though.

  18. Oh my gosh! CONGRATS!!! That is so amazing. I have never been to Switzerland, but I’d love to go, it looks gorgeous!
    I used to get air sick a lot more when I was little and I’ve slowly grown out of it. Still dont’ feel amazing on planes but don’t get actually sick. I take Dramamine, it puts you to sleep but what better to do on a plane? I’ve also heard of wearing the wrist bracelets or taking ginger tablets. I’d try Dramamine though, I think thats the strongest for a long plane ride!

  19. That is SO awesome!! Congratulations.

    I dont get air sickness – but Im super terrified of flying – so theres that little problem. lol I find vodka helps – but I dont know that it would with air sickness.

  20. That’s awesome you’re going to Switzerland!! Congrats!

  21. So excited for you! That is amazing!
    🙂 Jealous, too!

  22. CONGRATULATIONS! I’m sorry I’ve been so busy so I just had time to read this post today! You’ll have an amazing time- Switzerland is beautiful and this sounds like an incredible opportunity!

  23. That’s soo awesome my dear! Great for you. Seriously. You are going to love it, and I cannot wait to hear about your big adventures!

Leave a Reply

