They had me at free towels…

* Don’t forget to enter my Chobani Giveaway*

I hope everyone is having a lovely first day of the year- I know am!

Last night I went out to dinner with my family to my favorite Afghan Kabob place.

Usually I can kill two beef kabob’s but this time I opted to bring some TJ’s Risotto that I had made earlier.

It was pretty easy to make- I will be for sure bringing it to school with me for an easy lunch.

The risotto was front and center, I only ate 3 pieces of chicken along with some of the salad and rice. I always get my food in a take out container, that way if I don’t want to eat everything I can box it up and take it home. And that is exactly what I did.

To round up my New Year’s Eve I toasted with some delish and much needed hot chocolate as my family and I huddled by the heater- waiting for a certain ball to drop.

I only used 1/2 the packet w/ skim milk. I plan on using the rest tonight 🙂

I started 2010 off with a BANG!

Or as you all might see it as the most boring breakfast ever….

Organic granola with Fat free milk

Judge me all you want. It was super yum!

Truthfully I am not awake enough to come up with some bright, fruity and creative combination. I just try to get something in.

I hit up the gym for the first workout 2010! I felt fabulouss! Lady Gaga also joined in a few times….

Other than working up a sweat there are a few reasons why I loveee going to the gym.

1) Fluffy white towels and cups of ice water!

I am obsessed with ice. I love it. But the towels are key- I love being able to wipe my face- because I sweat buckets. I also take some home by accident… Although today I saw someone sneeze into their towel. Then I started to wonder if someone had sneezed into the towel I was rubbing my face with. I wish I had not see that.

2) Getting to read my gym-only-book.

My rule with this book is that I can only read this while at the gym- it makes my workout fly by! In fact I don’t even bring the book inside my house form the car- this way I am not tempted to cheat.

3) Ms. Matchy-Matchy in her pink Nike gear. You know who I am talking about. The one person at the gym who makes all of us look like lazy bums in our sloppy workout gear.

(No pic, it would be far too creepy)

Basically when I get to the gym I scope out the field for the best dressed person. And then I beat them. Motivation. Gotta get it from somewhere.

I was starving so I raced home for some whole wheat pita with spinach and squash.

Clearly that was not enough food because I was starving an hour later.

Dinner was brown basmati rice and bbq glazed Tilapia. My mom outdid herself tonight!

So yummiee! I ate about 1/2 of that!

I am off to go drink some green tea and have hot chocolate for dessert!

What motivates you at the gym?

15 responses to “They had me at free towels…

  1. oh my gosh your dinner looks so good! go momma!

  2. Your eats always look and sound delicious.

    I use the same workout trick: allowing myself to read a book while I do cardio is a huge motivator to get my butt to the gym!

  3. High-energy playlists definitely motivate me! Best of luck with all your resolutions.

  4. I love the matchy-matchy people at the gym who don’t actually ever do anything. Then I’m also one to laugh and show them up as much as possible…

  5. Shelley (findinghappinessandhealth)

    that dinner is awesome! i always think it is weird when people get all dressed up at teh gym :-\

    xoxo
    shelley

    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

  6. hahah i love you mentioning the matchy-match people. I am definently not one of those people. I usually just grab whatever and head out the door! I love your eats too! bbq glazed tilapia sounds fabulous!!

  7. i feel the same way about mitchy match people .. I literally roll out of bed .. no make up .. whatever I pull out of my drawers to work out in. haha! i want to be like uhh its 7 am .. your hair is like perfect you have full makeup on and you match .. HOW? hahaha

  8. Peanut Butter Bliss

    that risotto looks So good. I really need to try some because its popping up everywhere.
    mmm hazelnut hot cocoa – so good 🙂

  9. Jodi Picoult is seriously one of the best writers ever. Love all her books.

    I watch the news at the gym and it makes the time fly by!

  10. at the gym i set the program on the eliptical, and then “forget” that there’s a cooldown with them, so i get an extra couple minutes. and if i set it i know i won’t stop early (like i do sometimes when i just hit the quick start button)

  11. I do the same thing with books and magazines! I love to read while on the treadmill!!

  12. That is a great idea to have a “gym book”! I think I will have to try it!

  13. I have “run only” music 🙂

  14. I have a few self imposed rules:
    1. Crap Magazine (i.e. InTouch, Ok! and People) can only be read on an exercise machine (similar to your book)
    2. Certain songs are reserved for running. If the song comes on, I have to run the whole time or pedal really fast on the elliptical (Jai Ho and Circus are my current running songs)
    3. Strength training first. I usually want to poop out and not do weights so I made myself do it first.

  15. I have to admit that I like to match at the gym (even at home) as well!

    I am sure you look lovely! I am talking about the poeple that have the pretend to work out and wipe away fake sweat with their matchy matchy towel :)- Sana

Leave a Reply

