To trying new things

I HATE  strongly dislike trying new things. I fear the unknown.

When it comes to most things in life I stick to what I know and play it safe. Why bother with something new and unsure when you already have something that works!

When it comes to food I am SUPER PARANOID. Let me explain, when it comes to eating food at home, I check with my mom when she made the food and how long it has been sitting out. Also with grocery items I check the expiration date and throw out anything that is pushing with, especially with dairy products. This drives my mom INSANE! I just don’t want to eat something that has gone bad and get sick, its one of my bigger fears.

So when it comes to eating out, I don’t eat something that I have never tried before. When ever I go out, which usually means Panera I get the same thing every time. Its less stressful having to worry about what can go wrong. So it is a rare occasion when I want to try something new. Anything that I can do to prevent food poisoning or an upset stomach I will do. I understand that I can’t control everything about the preparation of a food item; however, I plan on doing as much as I possibly can.

But, a part of being AWARE of what I am eating is to try new and HEALTHY options. So with this new mind set I tried something new that I had never eaten before. Now before you start thinking about some far out of this world creature. Let me tell you, it was just a cookie. Not any kind of cookie but a certified vegan and organic cookie! It was in the display a my college snack shop. The price was a bit more than I would spend on a regular cookie but I was willing to try ( $3.49). It states on the lovely purple wrapping that the cookies are dairy and egg free as well as no trans-fat and no sodium.

The taste? AFEAKINGAMAZING! I don’t even think that’s a word, but the soft chocolate chip cookie tasted just like cookie dough, which I was always scared to eat because of the raw egg!

cookies This picture was taken from the Liz Lovely facebook fan page. Yes, I am obsessed.

Man these were just great, so I had to see who made these cookies and what she was all about: http://www.lizlovely.com/index.php . After reading her story I was even more impressed with these cookies. Check them out for yourself! I will defiantly be ” soul-mating” these cookies with a friend, as it says to do on the back of the package. Btw there are 2 HUGE cookies, this will last me a day, as I have already finished one!

Other than that I ate my obsession- Indian pizza, SOOO GOOOD! and I had some diet iced tea, which tasted kind funny :S

I have about two hours till I teach my classes, so this is the perfect time to eat lunch. I just can’t do anything exercise related with food in me. I can feel with every step I take. So I wait a good while and plan when I eat meals. Either that or not eat till I am done working out and that usually never goes well.

I am using exercise TV, as my resources for my classes which has for great ideas!!!!

QUESTION: What new food item have you tried out?

2 responses to “To trying new things

  1. that cookie looks goodd! when i was growing up, i HATED veggies..like really hated. i couldn’t even eat lettuce without gagging and crying at the table because my mother would force me to eat it…now that i’m getting older, i do eat more veggies, but i’m trying to introduce more variety into my meals. recently i tried kale. it’s not too bad sauteed or baked to make kale chips! have you ever had it?

  2. A single event can awaken within us a stranger totally unknown to us.

    Antoine de Saint-Exupery

    I was thinking about change the other morning as I sat in my friend’s kitchen, writing my next blog post and looking out their windows .It was then I realized how refreshing the new view was as I looked out. You may be wondering…why write in someone else’s kitchen ? Well, a bit of a favor for friends…as they were both at work, they needed someone to be there for when the cable guy came…so there I was.

    Anyway…Change…that is what I want to talk about. Having a different view of the snow that morning made me wonder…if I was enjoying the change so much …why is it that we are so often afraid of change in our lives? Is it that as we become older, are we way too set in our ways? Or is it that we are just stubborn ? Or, is it fear…fear of the unknown?

    So, who are you… when it comes to change in your life? Me , I will admit, I take some comfort in cosistancy…and change?.. I never really thought too much about the subject…but I do know……doing some new things for the first time has been difficult.

    Starting a blog was one of them. I knew I should have one if I wanted to let people know about my book. But if I made a blog, who was going to read it? And if anyone actually did check it out , what would they think of me and my ramblings? How would I come up with subject matter time after time…and how would I make it not boring? Afraid? Yes…I would say so. Writing a blog would mean putting myself out there….it made me think of those dreams I’ve had…..where I get to where I’m going and find myself naked!!! Now…Why would a person want to subject themselves to that?

    However, feeling it was necessary but feeling totally intimidated… I worked for hours and developed …So you wanna be a writer. As of right now my blog is only two and one half months old…but tonight …it is at the 2,000 hit mark…and my book is not even launched yet!!!!

    Good thing I decided to step into the scary.. unknown. Little did I know …it would be such fun.

    Is there an unknown you would like to step into but are afraid? Go for it, it might just awaken the stranger in you.

Leave a comment